Digital Tacho - Downloading Data

Hi,

I’m possibly needing equipment to download data from my card. I say possibly as I’m just a driver, but potentially driving for various operators.

I’m under the impression either I download periodically OR the operator does and retain for 12 months.

Any advice most welcome.

macplaxton:
I’m under the impression either I download periodically OR the operator does and retain for 12 months.

Any advice most welcome.

Not quite m8, the operator has a responsibility to download the data from both the driver card and the digital tachograph in the vehicle regardless of weather or not you download the data from the card.

There’s no requirement for you to download from the driver card, you do however have a responsibility to make your driver card available to a firm you do work for, so that they may download the data from it.

or give them printouts!!

you have fulfilled your legal obligation if you have printed a copy of your days working off and then hand it in after the 28 days is up. ( you dont actually need to keep it because it is on your card but it saves a lot of time if you do!)

i believe :wink:

Giblsa:
or give them printouts!!

you have fulfilled your legal obligation if you have printed a copy of your days working off and then hand it in after the 28 days is up.

You haven’t fulfilled any legal obligations by doing that, all you’ve done is waste paper. :stuck_out_tongue: :wink: :smiley: No legal requirement to take, keep, or hand in a printout under normal operations. All you have to do is make your card available for download and that is the extent of your responsibilities.

Ok, I’ll tell the RSA where to go. :laughing:

I’m looking at THIS and the relevant legislation that say one OR the other has to do it.

Seems like a bad piece of national legislation implementing a directive :unamused:

I feel it’s like pushing water uphill, especially when the “competent authority” is anything but…

Giblsa:
or give them printouts!!