Did you go 7.5T or straight to 18T?

looking to start work in august i have no hgv driving experience at all and what i trained in was only around 6tonne with water containers in the back so i havnt driven anything big. my plan was to try and get some 7.5T work to start out with just to get used to things then go on to bigger truckss. has anyone gone down this route or is it better to just jump straight in at the deep end and take whatever is thrown at you ?
the nerves are kicking in as im now actively looking for work. i can just see my first day going terrible and taking out loads of cars and street furniture haha :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

only you can tell mate, everyone is different with different skill having passed the test.

if you are unsure - speak to the agency. An agency has put me thru extra class 1 reversing training for free (or unpaid, depending how you look at it), another agency offered me to go with another their driver for free / unpaid. you might consider this route and ask them straight, or if you feel confident, just rock on. The main thing is not to hit anything while you do the job :sunglasses:

Do it… straight to class C :wink:

I drove 7.5t for a shift, 18t for 3 years, and have driven 32t for 4 years now.

I think I needed that progression, I’m that sort of person.

But that’s not to say you are…

If that’s your current plan mate, then if I were you, I would go that route. As said, everyone’s different and if your plan of starting small and moving up made sense to you personally, it’s probably the way you will feel more comfortable going.

BigRob25: