Depression

Does anyone know, am I risking loosing my licence by going to the GP with depression?

Don’t think you will because of the actual depression but if he does out you on anti-depressants then you might not be able to drive whilst on them if a side effect is something that makes you drowsy.

Unlikely and if a GP does put you on tablets it will not be ones that make you drowsy. From experience best to go for counselling rather than medication.

Good luck, hope you feel better soon.

Probably best to read the DVLAs guidance on depression and see where you are with that.

gov.uk/guidance/psychiatric … s-to-drive

Should have nothing to worry about…as said before, unless meds make you drowsy.
Doc will advise on this. Guidelines will suggest talking therapies on nhs, if antidepressants dont hit the spot. Whatever you do, don’t suffer in silence.
(In a previous life i worked as a cpn.)
Hope it all gets sorted for you.

A lot will depend on the type of depression.
Basically two types , one is a reaction to your situation and what has been happening in your life .
As others have said counselling or therapies are the best route with medication as a back up .
Seeking help is the biggest step in managing the illness .
The other type is caused by a chemical imbalance in the brain and is usually controlled by medication .
Take guidance from your GP and counsellor.
Good luck , is does get better with help and a willing attitude.

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

Ask your G.P what he suggests .He won’t put you on strong tabs to start in any case…If i was you i would refuse pills and try diet and excersize first .It does work .
P.s so does a banana (Has natural mood enhancing qualities) a day and vitimin d .

Agree with beetlejuice, im on anti depressants have been for 4 years started on 60mg and have slowly weened myself off down to 20mg a day and soon i am going to do 20mg every other day and so on.