Daventry to Norwich, second opinions on route?

Like the title says, I’ve got a job on tomorrow, starting in West Yorks (Brighouse) then to Daventry & Norwich, it’s the second leg that’s bothering me seems like very slow going. Being a newbie I don’t have a sat nav, MS Autoroute gave these roads
Daventry to Norwich: A425/A45/A14/A11/A147

What do the experienced drivers make of that? Any suggestions for a faster route.
Will this all fit into the max of 10 hours of driving available to me? Looks to me like it’ll be pretty tight :open_mouth:

Are you staying overnight in Norwich. If you are doing a round trip then ‘no chance’ of getting back IMHO, its over 400 miles!, in europe you might do that sort of distance easily. Of course if you can average around 45 mph its do-able but whats the chances of that.

The route seems fine to me, doubt you could find a quicker one.

Sounds like the best bet to me mate. Once you’ve got yourself round the traffic lights and roundabouts of Northampton it’s all dual-carriageway to Norwich. Where abouts are you going in Norwich? I can’t think where the A147 is, or did you mean the A47?

Shouldn’t that read A14/A143/A140?

Or you could go A14/A11,which is shorter and takes you past Thetford,Snetterton and Wymondham.

Ken.

Quinny:
Shouldn’t that read A14/A143/A140?

It’s an option but traffic permitting i’d say A11 straight through from the 14 would be the best bet.

A143 and A140 are NOT duel carrageway…where as A11 is duelled some of the way…I would go A11 to norwich especially the way the OP is coming.

jayeastanglia:
A143 and A140 are NOT duel carrageway

You’re telling me. …although to be fair, you have a half mile stretch from the A14/A143 split to the A143/A134 roundabout, then another good couple of miles on the Scole by-pass. That’s getting on for 3 miles in all i reckon! :wink::wink:
As we said before mate, stick with the route you were originally given, it’s as good as you’ll get.

Cheers for the responses guys.