DAF Dashboard voice…

Hi everyone.

I am a new driver and have been out on the roads for a few weeks. The 69 plate rigid DAF has this annoying voice from the dash that repeatedly says “please slow down” every time I hit 50 mph.
Also “Retarder saves energy.”
How on earth can this be disabled? It’s so annoying!!

Have you…

Read the handbook?

Or, did you chuck it in the bin without ever opening it like real men do?

Oh thank you so much. Not sure I would post this question had the handbook been available……

That means…

The answer to your problem may well be in the handbook.

User manuals for DAF drivers (needs a VIN).

It sounds like the Driver Performance Assistant (PDF file). I believe there’s a coaching setting that you can turn off.

Alternatively: "if only there was a way to search the internet to find the answer to my question myself, instead of asking someone to spoon feed me? :laughing:

Loads of vids on Youtube about DAF features

Unfauglith HGV:
Oh thank you so much. Not sure I would post this question had the handbook been available……

Freely available
daf.co.uk/en-gb/daf-service … er-manuals

Unfauglith HGV:

I’ve watched…

Drivers get hit on the head with the instruction book as it flies out of the top locker. Then they ask questions on how to open the rad grill to check the water level.

I’ll see myself out.

Zac_A:
Alternatively: "if only there was a way to search the internet to find the answer to my question myself, instead of asking someone to spoon feed me? [emoji38]

Are you trying to kill off the PDF? At least he’s not asking about religion, immigration or submarines at the bottom of the sea.
And I’ve learnt how ■■■■■ DAFs can be [emoji16]

stu675:

Zac_A:
Alternatively: "if only there was a way to search the internet to find the answer to my question myself, instead of asking someone to spoon feed me? [emoji38]

Are you trying to kill off the PDF? At least he’s not asking about religion, immigration or submarines at the bottom of the sea.