CV help

Hi,

I’ve read a few forum posts on here advising to go out with your CV and hand them to transport managers to get you face known in the hope of getting a job.

I’m quite happy to do this when my time comes (just starting out on my journey at the minute), but I have no relevant experience to put on my CV.

I’ve been in IT for the past 20+ years and I’m sure a transport manager will have no interest in the fact I can develop interactive web pages using PHP by interrogating a mysql database.

So other than the fact I’ve always been a long time employee with each of the companies I’ve worked for (proving reliability, trust worthiness and commitment) and the fact my license is clean, what else can I put on my CV?

Any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Gareth

I was in the same boat as you, passed my test, no practical job experience, but a couple of months after passing my test I have managed to land a full time job. You need to think about the skills you already have, the ability to work on your own or as part of a team, resilience, problem solving, working under pressure to tight deadlines, a willingness and wanting to learn, approachable. Then when you go visiting potential employers try to be as enthusiastic as possible. I applied for loads of vacancies through job sites and got nowhere, tried ringing after a few only to be told need a minimum one years experience, so one day when I saw a vacancy come up I went straight there with my cv and licence, was lucky enough to get an interview and to find they took on newbies, and the next day got a phone call offering me the job.
It’s just a case of being persistent and not letting the knock backs get you down.
Hope this helps!!!

Nice one, thanks for that.

G

Hey Gareth,

Exactly what Tiddyrobbo says is right. :smiley: