Curtains open or closed

Due to the wind I have seen a fair few motors with the curtains pulled back some doors open some shut. I had been told modern curtainsiders shouldn’t be run like this as the curtain is part of the strength of the trailer.
The trailers I pull seem very flimsy. If you undo all the posts it’s very hard to do them up as the roof seems to drop. So is there a way of knowing what trailer is sutiable to run open.
I find by doing the curtains aa tight as possible then the buckles the same it seems to resist the wind a bit better.
Sorry to ask but I’m new to this curtainsider business.

I wouldn’t be arsed myself, just slow down if it gets hairy.

I don’t see how the curtains can add to the strength of the trailer and I wouldn’t bother taking the posts out because they do. Don’t know about the back doors, ask your boss then you can’t get bollocked for breaking it.

Silver_Surfer:
I wouldn’t be arsed myself, just slow down if it gets hairy.

Sounds about right to me. If it’s that bad park it up, drop the legs, pull the pin and move forward a couple of feet. Deal with it once the weather improves, assuming your trailer is still on it’s wheels.

If you really have to drive, and assuming you are on a motorway, then try to run alongside another truck where possible. The reason for this is that contrary to common perception, it is not the force of wind blowing you over that will cause you to break your mirrors, it has more to do with the negative pressure (or vaccum if you like) which is created on the downwind side which will usually succeed in ‘pulling’ you over. However, if you are running parallel with another truck (or other large vehicle) then the vacuum has to be twice as strong to have the same effect, meaning you are half as likely to be pulled over on your side.