Cullings Transport Services Claxton Norfolk

Cullings was one of the larger haulage companies in Norfolk. I was a vehicle mechanic and did repairs to their Bedfords. Sadly no camera with me in those days.Does anyone have pics, or memories of Cullings.

I knew a few old boys on Cullings from the days I was at HG Barbers at Bradwell, in fact one of them came and worked with us, his name was Charlie Clitheroe and was tragicly killed in the early '70s at Billingford near Diss. I can also remember Horry Baker, Ralph Edwards, Honey and there must be more. Some of them of course went over to Duttons when they took over in later years. Duttons used to work out of the Co-op Canning factory at Lowestoft and I drove for Perfects of Yarmouth doing the same thing. Good days, we thought they would be here forever !
Anway, I have one or two photos which were taken by a chap who was a mechanic for Cullings before starting his own business at Trowse, he is a friend of a friend but I can’t remember his name at the moment. I will dig them out when I get time. Meanwhile here is one which I have on the laptop. I think it’s Kings Lynn cattle market and I love this picture.

CULLINGS BEDFORD MAH 250.jpg

I forgot they also ran coaches. This one dates from 1950.

Claxton-smockmill-bus-logo-c_1950.jpg

Claxton-smockmill-bus-c_1950.jpg

Like Haddy I too remember those names, also a driver called Billy Alderton who gave me some photos There was a Bedford A type, I understand this float ended up on its side at the Bracondale roundabout. I cannot remember where the AEC 8-wheel photo came from , but good to have it anyway. Look forward to viewing haddy’s photos. Will also look up more photos

Was it this one mate ?