CPC

Hi guys

I’m not sure if this is going to sound a bit dumb!

I have been driving class 2 for 7 years now and I currently have no CPC modules. I’m looking at doing my class 1 in November and just wondered if I would have to have my CPC before I can legally drive them.

I’ve been told a few different things and I’m not sure which one is true

Cheers

Dave

dpt2011:
I’m looking at doing my class 1 in November and just wondered if I would have to have my CPC before I can legally drive them.

No, you just need to pass the practical test.

You’re fine for now, you require 35hrs completed before Sep 2014 to carry on driving for hire or reward.

Thats music to my ears as I dont fancy forking out for my whole CPC straight away so I can drive. I am pretty nervous about doing my class 1 mind :confused:

Or you could take and pass your modules 2 & 4 when you are doing your C+ E test.

This gives you 5 years to do the 35 hours training from the date your DCPC card is issued to you, instead of the 2 years that you have now.

Bear in mind that affordable, convenient and useful training is going to get increasingly difficult to find between now and Sept 2014 as the penny drops for all those who are still in denial.

GasGas:
Or you could take and pass your modules 2 & 4 when you are doing your C+ E test.

This gives you 5 years to do the 35 hours training from the date your DCPC card is issued to you, instead of the 2 years that you have now.

Bear in mind that affordable, convenient and useful training is going to get increasingly difficult to find between now and Sept 2014 as the penny drops for all those who are still in denial.

Wrong.

He has grandfather rights to the CPC and only needs 35 hours of CPC classroom sessions before 2014

dar1976:

GasGas:

Wrong.

He has grandfather rights to the CPC and only needs 35 hours of CPC classroom sessions before 2014

I suspect this is correct. With acquired rights you won’t be able to do the initial DCPC.