CPC opinions changed?

Now I suppose most of us have completed or nearly completed the current CPC, I was wondering if after sitting a few courses your opinion had indeed changed, if you thought it was a good thing do you now consider it a bad thing? Or did you consider it a complete waste and now think it’s a good thing? Or maybe even you stand by your initial thoughts?

Personally, when I first heard of it all I was a pretty new driver and I thought the idea of asking seasoned drivers to sit this was ridiculous, but after sitting my courses I can honestly say the more experienced drivers seemed pretty clueless on some aspects, now my opinion has changed slightly, I now believe this is a good thing that there is some kind of periodic training, I’m not saying the current system is perfect, the trainers need yo be much more educated and governed far more than they seem to be at present.

So, have your personal opinions changed at all ■■

I did my first course a couple of weeks ago and my next one is next week, it was a farce to be honest, had a great laugh with some funny guys though :laughing:

My opinion hasn’t changed, and it never will as long as there’s no set syllabus for the DCPC course. If my DCPC course had been brilliantly taught and left me feeling I’d learned lots of useful new stuff, that’d have been great (it didn’t, by the way), but it wouldn’t have been applicable to the DCPC course going on in the next room or any of the others being taught up and down the country. Maybe this will settle out in time, but it makes it hard to say how useful the DCPC course is as a whole at the moment.

I cant see to much changing as its been out long enough now and the bus industry has already hit their deadline with no dramas to the authorities.
They wont spend on it while its earning :wink: