CPC - is it any use?

Due to the new (yet another) European directive that is to come into force in 2007 that HGV drivers’ require additional training ( :confused: ) to make them more professional :open_mouth: , I was thinking about getting my CPC. However, as I am an employed driver is it worth having, and would it negate my taking any further training regards this European directive?

I’ve had mine for 12 years,and find it no use whatsoever.

Ken.
( <<<<<< 4 posts to the magical 1000)

i suppose that if you were holder of a full cpc you wouldn’t be required to this five yearly training as in effect your qualified to teach that training?

From what I’ve read on the subject, holding a CPC does not affect the requirement to complete 35 hours training every five years.

I’ve had both mine for nearly 30 years and haven’t really used them. However, evidence of CPD (Continuous Professional Development) always looks good on any C.V. and could make the difference between getting a job and not.

Krankee:
From what I’ve read on the subject, holding a CPC does not affect to requirement to complete 35 hours training every five years.

That’s my understanding also, the CPC and Compulsory driver training are completely different fields. There is no requirement for a CPC holder to even hold an LGV licence let alone train people.

Whats a cpc?.

What exactly is going to be ‘taught’ during this 35hrs course? If its that long it’ll take at least a week to complete, I can only imagine how much that will cost in rip off Britain.

The CPC is not needed and has nothing to do with the new training requirement.

If you want an operators licence or to act as transport manager you need a CPC unless you rent one from these nobody cares outfits

robinhood_1984:
What exactly is going to be ‘taught’ during this 35hrs course? If its that long it’ll take at least a week to complete, I can only imagine how much that will cost in rip off Britain.