Coupling / Uncoupling

I’ve been driving class 1 regularly for about six months now and am settling into it nicely. Confident reversing and manouvering in tight areas but still careful and not complacement. I have a question though for those of you who’ve been at it while now re: coupling / uncoupling.

I still carry out the coupling / uncoupling procedure exactlty as I was taught in my training and as carried out on my test. However, it’s this bit that I notice other drivers don’t bother with (at the two places I work for most regularly)When coupling I reverse the unit in front of the trailer, get out check the height of the trailer and kingpin in relation to the 5th wheel. I then always lower the suspension on the unit, reverse under untill the fith wheel is underneath and then raise the suspension before reversing back onto the kingpin to couple up. I notice that most drivers just reverse straight on to the trailer, no checking the height, no lowering or raising the suspension. Similarly, when uncoupling, after releasing the kingpin, I pull forward a little, then lower the suspension before driving out from underneath the trailer. Again, I notice that most drivers just drive from underneath and drop the trailer without lowering the suspension.

Is this just corner cutting on their part or is it perhaps because they assume that the trailer height will always be the same and therefore lowering /raising the suspension is unnecessary. (some of the trailers are dropped front end low by the shunters so I think this is a risky approach)

What do you guys do :question:

Its cutting corners, do exactly what you were taught during your training!!!

The procedures used for un/coupling are there for safety reasons.

The using of the unit suspension is not a strict DSA procedure but can be used ok - this is usually a company policy procedure to prevent potential damage.

There are many stories on this site that have said what happens if a driver decides to cut corners