Couple of questions.

Some of you may be aware that I’m new to class 1 and I’ve just finished my second week.

What I need to know are this,

1. How many hooks can you get away with being damaged/faulty on a curtain sider before Vosa start to get in a mood about it? Did a run for Asda out of Doncaster today and the curtain had about 8 faulty ones in total. I didn’t know if I should have taken it or not.

2. When sat on a loading bay in an RDC, is it classed as POA or other work when you are just sat in your cab whilst they unload/load you?

Cheers
Gloria.

Well i cant comment on the curtain issue as i pull a fridge but,i’m 99% that is defo not classed as POA.

sat in cab, not doing any work… i put it on break

Sat in the cab = not working, which means either break, (Depending on your driving hours or WTD.) or POA.

IIRC, POA is a period that you are available to work, (Period of availabilty.) but are not working. If your sat in the cab, your not working but are available to do if instructed.

Ken.

8 faulty hooks, in my current job would mean I wouldnt take the trailer out. I would not be able to give a definite rule though, as we are told if its part of the truck/trailer and its missing then its defective.

PM’d you

Some trailers have “load bearing curtains” so I’ve been told. so if one strap is missing then it’s defective apparently. At my old place I think just about every trailer had a strap missing I never got stopped though mate and neither did anyone else, not for straps missing anyways.

And yes it is poa if your sat in your cab or waiting room at a rdc. But as said before it’s a handy time to get a break in :wink:

dukeofdirt:
And yes it is poa if your sat in your cab or waiting room at a rdc.

Only if you have been told in advance, or know from experience of the delivery, the length of time you will be waiting, which with most RDC’s you are unlikely to know or be told.

Coffeeholic:

dukeofdirt: