costs per mile

hi,i’ve got myself a new job as a transport planner at a firm i was driving for,they have 9 artics,1 x rigid 4 wheeler & a 7.5t rigid they also have 4x6 wheeler ro’ro hook loaders.
i am in the process of trying to cut their running costs for their trucks,main 1 being diesel of course.
the hook loader side of the business at the moment,is the most ineffecient in the use of fuel/time etc so i am trying to start there first as i have a lot of experience with this side of the business from working here & for another firm doing the same sort of work…

does anyone have any running costs for a 6 wheeler hook loader,or a ball park figure,ideally i’m looking at costs per mile as i am trying to reduce the amount of mileage the trucks do to & from certain jobs,so i can then show what i can save the company if they are willing to change a few things that they are doing…

i’d be grateful for any info on running cost for any of the other vehicles i’ve mentioned above or if you need any more info please say
thanks
John

Can’t help you with hookloaders but I run a 6x4 tipper on quarry work in a pretty hilly area. Usually get between 8.5-8.8mpg, sometimes worse, sometimes better.

I work my costs per mile out like this;
Diesel cost per litre = £1.40 x 4.546 = £6.36 per gallon.

Divide your cost per gallon (£6.36) by your MPG (call it 9mpg) = £0.707 per mile.
Less VAT at 20% = 56.53 pence per mile.

You need to make sure that you accurately measure your fuel consumption and that your drivers follow the same procedure each time they fill up otherwise your results will be skewed and you won’t get an accurate idea of where you stand.

thanks for that hammer.very helpful.i know the hook loader i was in today was doing about 6.5 to the gallon,so can have a start there…
at the moment the firm have no procedures set in place so they can see how much fuel the vehicles are using!! this is across the entire fleet!!! :open_mouth: