Correct Procedure

Hi all,

Im new here having just joined so hi to all.

Anyway, I have a gripe with my employer. Im an artic driver for a company that has a few depots. Im a tramper and the other day I arrived at the companies main depot having been on duty for around 14 hrs and 10 mins or so. I was away from home so will be on a night out. As I pulled up at the yards gate I had to stop and I then noticed that my units front n/s brake was on fire. The numpty of a yard marshall got the security guard to run over with a powder extinguisher to put out the fire, without my consent.

Ok to the point, my bosses insisted that my cab be taken from me to be sent for repairs overnight so then it would be fixed for me in the morning. They gave me a rigid to sleep in. After the fire to the time I dropped my trailer and got parked up in my cab then pulled my card I was pretty much on 15 hours on duty time. I had to wait another 45 mins or so after I pulled my card before they got a rigid to me.

At first I refused to accept sleeping in someone elses cab and that the repairs should be done in the morning as I had just done a 15 hour shift. Who is in the right about this?

One more question I have, if on a Friday my company cant guarentee that I will be home on the Friday evening and will have to work Saturday to get home, am I well within my rights to refuse to do the job that will put me out of hours so I would be unable to reach home on the Friday?

Thanks for any advice you may give me, Paul.

To me, IMHO you’re being unreasonable. Someone put a fire out on your unit without your permission■■? Just be glad it was put out.
Your employer was covering their backside and I’d be grateful they found somewhere for you to sleep. If your unit went up in flames and your boss authorised you to sleep there think how much trouble he would be in.
As for running back empty on a Sat morning yeah its annoying but normal.
Sorry not what you want to hear, just my opinion

rautio: