Coolbox

The mrs has picked me up a coolbox 12v to take to work as I’m starting with a new company tomorrow and will be in one of the older wagons which I expect won’t have a fridge fitted.

I’ve never used one before and just wanted to know a few things from the people who have used them.

Are they really suitable to be keeping things like raw meats?

Or are they only suitable to keep your milk and drinks chilled?

In terms of powering it should it be left plugged in through the night or not?

Obviously if I’ve got things like sausages and bacon in it turning it off at night isn’t going to be very good but I don’t want to be causing any electrical damage to the truck, waking up to dead batts or melting plugs etc.

I just want to make sure I don’t ■■■■ anything up on my first week :slight_smile:

Make sure it gets plugged into a 12v socket if it’s a 12v item. They usually work about 18 degrees below ambient temperature. So if it’s 20 degrees outside, will run at 2 degrees. OK for milk and most chilled foods.

bigvern1:
Make sure it gets plugged into a 12v socket if it’s a 12v item. They usually work about 18 degrees below ambient temperature. So if it’s 20 degrees outside, will run at 2 degrees. OK for milk and most chilled foods.

Yeah I knew that bit about the running temps. I checked it online and it’s manufacturer says it runs at 30 below ambient. So I shouldn’t have any trouble with the temps as the highest we’ve seen just lately is around 32 ish.

I’m just a bit concerned about it being plugged in over night.