Conundrum

Been working 8 wheelers home at night but boring webt for and interview and been offered start on fridges class 1 which I have little experience on, jon will involve nights out tho which have never done, and obv will be on more money.

Am I being daft is it a no brainer?

Hi Mate,

Well there’s a thing…

You need to look at in two ways really…

1. Fridges these days are fairish simple, dependent on the work, most are running part time , ergo the engine on the fridge itself, and some ambient wont need the fridge at all and or “Dry freight”, basicly its easy, you set the temp and the engine will keep that fridge at that temp until you tell it otherwise. frozen stuff needs to be that so again dependent on settings, the fridge will be running almost constant… this leads me to the point, sleep! now, some, like me, can sleep with a fridge running and in fact would wake when it stopped for any reason… however some i know cant and have a a hell of a time and don’t last long in the job.
    being away is fine as long as your on fair good money and night out money is paid accordingly. your be away from home so no “normal” family life and that’s, any 30plus driver will tell you, can put a huge strain on a marriage.

2.Being home is is a must if you have kids, money is what it is and sometimes in life taking a cut is better than chasing big money only to find you lost everything else en route and trust me, it happens.

i don’t suppose theirs a chance you can grab some overtime at your present employer to help out?
you could always try for something that is still days but pays better, RDC work, or local Temp agencies might well be be able to offer a good rate and varied work, i don’t know as im not from your neck of the woods but just giving out some thought is all.

Hope all works out, me, knowing what i know now and looking back… id leave the fridge, take the family any day.

Good luck fella

Thanks for reply mate.