Continental or UK?

Hi all, just found this site and it is fantastic :slight_smile:

I am in need of some advice please, I got my class 2 in the army 14 years ago and have just passed my class 1 which cost far too much ggggrrrrrr. However even with 6 years continental experience on everything from 3.5t to 17t not one company i spoke to wants to know as i have no experience. I know i have a lot to learn with regards to artics but i can not seem to make them understand that i wouldn’t of paid for my licence myself if i wasn’t willing to learn. All i want to do is drive artics.

I have just been offered 2 interviews for UK work only and whilst the experience would be good i don’t know if i could do it, at present Folkestone is the furthest north i go and am happy with that, but do you think thats my best option for now?

If anyone knows of any jobs going can they please let me know, i would re-locate for right one. I don’t want much just a decent wage, a truck i can stand up in to get dressed and air con for summer. Two weeks out at a time would be preferable but not too fussy :laughing:

Thanks in advance for your help, will try to reply ASAP but maybe away and don’t have access when away,

Many thanks again

Hi Linux, how’s your alternative operating system?

Welcome to Trucknet, yes it is a gr8 site & you WILL get answers/suggestions (both helpful & tongue in cheek probably). Many of our members are, particularly in this forum, away down the road during the week, so don’t expect answers within minutes.

I’d say you are at the right end of the country to get the type of work you seek. I’m sure if you knock enough doors you will find it. Double manning initially could be a way in?

Also, you might wanna try using the search facility (top mid-right of this page), may lead you to firms seeking continental drivers.

Regards, Jonathan.