Containers

Hi Lads & Lasses,
Right, all you drivers on container work, can you give me advice on driving them, delivery points, different container ports, and the good/bad at them. Any tips or heads up on any aspect of container work is needed ? I have looked online at the different Ports in the UK and found some helpful stuff like maps, rules etc but want a drivers viewpoint because that’s what really counts.I have over 15 years Class 1 C+E experience on most types of jobs tho’ never done container work but that will change on 14th Jan when I start my new job. Thanks all in advance,
Phil

philtvc65:
Hi Lads & Lasses,
Right, all you drivers on container work, can you give me advice on driving them, delivery points, different container ports, and the good/bad at them. Any tips or heads up on any aspect of container work is needed ? I have looked online at the different Ports in the UK and found some helpful stuff like maps, rules etc but want a drivers viewpoint because that’s what really counts.I have over 15 years Class 1 C+E experience on most types of jobs tho’ never done container work but that will change on 14th Jan when I start my new job. Thanks all in advance,
Phil

The doors go at the back :wink:

first tip is, you don’t drive a container, you carry it on your trailer :wink: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

seriously now, when you first get the container loaded on to your trailer, drive very carefully as you don’t know how it is loaded inside, it could be top heavy or even a bulk liquid bag inside

all the container ports and rail heads work differently

Felixstowe and Thamesport both require RHIDES cards, your employer will deal with this on your behalf and you collect it from the pass office at the relevant port when you get there, same card for Felixtowe and Thamesport (otherwise known as Isle of Grain)

Seaforth, take photo ID with you, also, make sure you have an extra copy of the paperwork with you, they will keep a copy