Container work

Hi guys,
Normally I do curtainside work going to RDC’s but tomorrow I’m on the containers. I have never done this before so was just wondering what to expect, especially when at the docks.
Any advice, hints and tips would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Nick

Alot easier than curtain side work! and the dock procedure would depend on which one/ones your going to, because no two are the same!

Plenty of info on site if ya do a search. Most common boxes are 40ft high cubes (9" 6’ high). If you pick up an import, take it easy for a bit as boxes get loaded unsupervised so can be top heavy, also watch for loose items falling out when you open the doors.

Which dock are you operating from?

Not sure which docks, but as I’m with Sparks in Glastonbury I’m guessing it’s gonna be Avonmouth.

Beef:
Not sure which docks, but as I’m with Sparks in Glastonbury I’m guessing it’s gonna be Avonmouth.

they also go into Southampton, iirc.

Well any advice for either of those docks would be great.

Beef:

Cant help you with Avonmouth, but Southampton is pretty straight forward, you will need dock gate 20, once youve been through pre ingate, which is were you will enter your VBS number, make sure you get one and make sure you arrive ontime you have a 2 hour window from the start time.
If you are going there you will also need to take a driver awereness assesment, which is done online on there web site, which is here http://www.dpworldsouthampton.com/vbs/vbs-intro/driver-engagement-video/ the video is very informative of there procedure from entering the port to going to the lift areas which are all marked and sign posted and leaving, once you have watched the video you can then do the test, which if you pass you will be able th7o print out, you will need this pass certificate to go on the terminal!