Considering my LGV

Hi all. I’m new to the forums and just want general advice really.

I am considering taking my class C, then on to the class C+E as truck driving is something I have always wanted to do.

I have 14 years experience as a PCV driver so I reckon I won’t need that much practice (For the C anyway!) And I have many thousands of hours sat in the driving seat doing service work and running coaches up and down the M1.

The advice I need initially is can anyone recommend a decent training school near to Barnsley where I live, will I need to pay for the provisional C licence, and any other advice anyone can offer will be of great help.

I feel as though I am now in a rut with my current job and need to get out ASAP and lorry driving I think is definetly for me.

Cheers and thanks in advance.

Paul

I feel as though I am now in a rut with my current job and need to get out ASAP and lorry driving I think is definetly for me.

You certainly get a bit more variety on HGV rather than PCV, something that appealed to me. If you get stuck in a rut here, you could change from multidrop to tippers etc and although it is still driving, your days would be completely different.

There are a lot of useful people here on TNUK and you should find plenty of help and assistance. Best of luck

Thanks for that 8wheels.

I am sure it will be far better than PCV driving, the problem is i made the huge mistake of leaving bus driving and joining south yorks police as a civilian worker!

If only I’d known just how unhappy I would be a year later i’d have stayed doing the local school buses, and believe me, they were a bloody nightmare!

So for sure I’ll be joining the ranks soon enough, cos if i don’t i think i’ll lose my mind.

Cheers

Although I can’t help with any driving schools in your area, I can say…

Been there, done that and got the T-shirt!!!