Confused newbie

Hi
Sorry if some feel this may be obvious - but here goes.

I am a self employed courier driver - mostly using a small van. However on occasions I am asked if I can do removals - I would need a 7.5t lorry.

OK - I am told that a local firm can hire me the 7.5 tonner without any problem. However - I am also told that in order to use a 7.5 tonne for reward (not into doing jobs for free !!) - then I need an operators licence and a CPC manager. If I am using hire vans only once a week - how do I do this …

As I understand it the operators licence has to have the vehicles reg. on it etc. How do I do this when I am hiring vehicles … Also I have to have a transport manager for a minimum of 8 hours per week - I could only be doing one job a week in the 7.5 tonne so that doesn’t really seem to work either.

Is it realistically not possible to use hire vehicles for business …

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Many thanks

Pete

sub the work out with you packing to keep an eye on things.

pjlewis:
Hi
Sorry if some feel this may be obvious - but here goes.

I am a self employed courier driver - mostly using a small van. However on occasions I am asked if I can do removals - I would need a 7.5t lorry.

OK - I am told that a local firm can hire me the 7.5 tonner without any problem. However - I am also told that in order to use a 7.5 tonne for reward (not into doing jobs for free !!) - then I need an operators licence and a CPC manager. If I am using hire vans only once a week - how do I do this …

What you have been told is entirely correct, it doesn’t matter if you only do one job a year, you still need an operators licence.

As I understand it the operators licence has to have the vehicles reg. on it etc. How do I do this when I am hiring vehicles … Also I have to have a transport manager for a minimum of 8 hours per week - I could only be doing one job a week in the 7.5 tonne so that doesn’t really seem to work either.