Confused about digi tachos

Hi can someone help me with a few questions about digi tachos use?

Correct me if wrong my thoughts on how to use a digi tacho was ;

Turn up at lorry , digi in , drive 4.5 hours take 0.45 break or drive 2 hours 0.15 break etc etc but my question is :

How to do the 15 min pre check of lorry ? So turn up at lorry stick digi in put to other work and check lorry and roughly 15 mins later start driving?

Also the big question when taking card out at end of day or shift must the card be on rest before removal ■■

Also must I do printouts the following shift ? Or are they just not for discrepancys or visa checks etc? If I have to do them can someone point me to a clear guide / video or a guide I can print.

Before you ask I have been going through old topics and unfortunately getting more and more confused.

As you might have seen from my other topic im a newbie and have just started with a local company and will be starting work from Monday week on. Hopefully they will teach me some of these things etc but does no harm to ask here first thanks paul

paulr92:
Hi can someone help me with a few questions about digi tachos use?

Correct me if wrong my thoughts on how to use a digi tacho was ;

Turn up at lorry , digi in , drive 4.5 hours take 0.45 break or drive 2 hours 0.15 break etc etc but my question is :

How to do the 15 min pre check of lorry ? So turn up at lorry stick digi in put to other work and check lorry and roughly 15 mins later start driving?
When you insert your card it should default to other work, 10 minutes is really the max you need. 5 minutes for a check of the truck and load and another 5 for filling out any paper work. Thats what VOSA will look for.

Also the big question when taking card out at end of day or shift must the card be on rest before removal ■■
No, when your done just eject the card but you will need to do a manual entry when you put it back in