Complete novice needs direction

Hi all…I have decided that i would like to try for my C1 class license but as i am completely new to this type of work i was wondering if anybody can recomend any training companies in and around the Barnsley/Doncaster area that can help me complete the full works (written tests, medical, practical tests etc…). I have read many posts and understand that it will probably cost around 1 thousand give or take a little but as i am not mechanically minded and never done this before, will i be wasteing my dollars?

What are you doing now and what do you know about the job

When did you pass your car test? Going by “Dave1973” if you passed before 1997 you’ll have C1 anyway…

mac12:
What are you doing now and what do you know about the job

I’m currently working in a dead end warehouse job…as i said i will be going into this training/work as a complete novice. I have a little experience driving a 7.5 ton wagon but that was a few years ago.

DaveB68:
When did you pass your car test? Going by “Dave1973” if you passed before 1997 you’ll have C1 anyway…

It was in 1997…looking on my license theres a line through the “C1” option, i’m guessing this means i’m not able to drive this size vehicle without further training (not that i would be comfortable just jumping in a cab and driving off without proper training).

So you don’t have your class C if not your costs will be nearer £3000 but others will tell you better about that.

mac12:
So you don’t have your class C if not your costs will be nearer £3000 but others will tell you better about that.

Yikes MAC!!!

why go for LGV C1 when LGV C is an option because you can skip C1 and go for C with a current B licence

Got manual B licence then go for C auto then C+E auto and they come back from DVLA as manuals

Recommend to have £3k handy if going from B through to C+E

Click the link in my signature for more info as well as the other stickies near the top of this forum so you do not get ripped off