Complete newbie

Hi guys, new to the forum and just to introduce myself and get some views from everyone.
Im doing a career change from a letting agent to car recovery. What I want to know or rather need to know is do I have to register as an operator to do recovery work on a 7.5 tonner? Ive already bought a Renault midlum twin loader LEZ compliant and after talking to some of the smaller recovery guys im confused. Any info would be helpful or are the smaller drivers just trying to put me off?

Hi, you need to go on the vosa website and look at the exemptions to operators licencing. If my memory serves me right, to be exempt from an O licence you can only carry vehicles that are immobilised ie broken down, accident damaged. You cant pick a car up just because it has no mot or deliver a new car from one garage to another. A lot do but will fall foul on day and pay the price. I use a 4.6t Iveco + 3.5t trailer and run with an O licence. Get reading my friend.

mraf786:
Hi guys, new to the forum and just to introduce myself and get some views from everyone.
Im doing a career change from a letting agent to car recovery. What I want to know or rather need to know is do I have to register as an operator to do recovery work on a 7.5 tonner? Ive already bought a Renault midlum twin loader LEZ compliant and after talking to some of the smaller recovery guys im confused. Any info would be helpful or are the smaller drivers just trying to put me off?

Whether or not you need an operators licence depends on the vehicle and what you intend to use it for, to be exempt form needing an operators licence you will only be able to recover disabled vehicles, so if it’s also your intention to transport operational vehicles from A to B for people you will need an operators licence.