Company internal Driving Assessment

Hi guys,
I’m a novice LGV driver, been driving panel vans for 4 years prior obtaining Class 1 with ADR ticket on January. Since then I’ve been doing a bit of Class 2 agency job in vehicles that could be hard to describe as roadworthy. Anyway, after sending dozen of CVs and cover letters I’ve been asked to come on interview and driving assessment to big logistic company (Class 1). I’m a bit nervous as I havent driven Class 1 since my exam (just class 2). My question is - what should I expect on such assessment? What should I pay attention to, should I drive in same way as ‘exam way’ ie steering technique, etc or is it about something else? Should I pay detailed attention to vehicle checks as per cpc exam and stuff? I don’t have to mention that other then reversing artic onto bay on exam would take more then 1 attempt (as I had no way to do that in the past). I don’t want to ■■■■ that up, I really want to finally drive artic and do something that gives me sense of satisfaction…

Hi. Criteria varies between companies. But essentially they are looking for someone who isn’t going the damage the vehicle or their company image with poor driving.

Of course the checks are important - it’s not just for test/cpc. It’s real world and vital.

Continue to drive as you were trained. It really isn’t a party piece just for test. When people mention they have been driving for ■■ years, they normally follow up with a statement about “bad habits”. Think about it. If they are BAD habits, why the hell are we doing it??

To drive correctly is safer, more efficient, more professional, faster overall. So, having achieved a basic standard of safe driving, please take it seriously and build on it rather than slip into “bad habits”.