Coming back to the uk after a stint in Canada

Hi all, first time posting on here but after a few years in Canada as a driver I am looking at coming back to the uk for some work. I have held a full class 1 (c+e) since 2000 but was in the army till I worked over the pond. I could already have a good euro job set up through family and friends ect but any help would be much appreciated. Thanks

If youve got the chance of a euro job id take it, there ain`t alot going on in the good old uk at the moment Also it will depend on which part of the uk you are relocating to.

How do you go on about sorting out your licence?
Canadian and UK car licences can be used in both countries, But LGV and CDL arn’t transferable as far as i know.
It has been discussed on here before, But i can’t remember the outcome.

Cheers mate. I’m off back to Lincolnshire. Any advice on cpc? I know i have till next year to do the basics but what are they? and whats the cost?
:confused:

5 modules 7 hrs per module. Cost? I did 21 hrs for £100. Different trainers, different prices.

limeyphil:
Canadian and UK car licences can be used in both countries, But LGV and CDL arn’t transferable as far as i know.

I got in touch with the dvla and they said because I had a full license C+E, D ect before I moved to Canada that all i had to do was fill a form in and surrender my Canadian license. But if you went to Canada then you have to do there very laughable class 1 test. :unamused:

As you already hold a UK class 1 just tell the dvla you’ve lost it and get a replacement sent, that way you’re not surrendering anything and if you wish to go back to Canada at any time you have not got to prat about getting a replacement Canadian licence again. The province who issued your licence in Canada keep them on file in the provincial captial and do not send them back to the UK so the DVLA have no idea what licence you hold and dont.

Mick 6527:

limeyphil: