class1?

i am currently a class2 hiab driver as my name hints lol i am on about 17k a year but circumstaces have changed and i need more money ! (wife now a muture student) Been thinking about doing my class1 but what puts me of is most companys demand 2 years experiance and i cant leave a full time job for agency so i would be worried about finding work my current work as no class 1 so was thinking of looking for a rigid job at the mo with a company that as both class 1 and 2 . anyway what i am asking is. is the class1 worth the investment? will i make more money (stay in the glasgow area) and how differnt is it driving an artic to a 6 wheeler (doing multi drops for builders merchant). Any input welcome thanks for reading this long winded dribble lol

hi, i have held my class 2 for 9 yrs, only drove on it for 4 weeks, didnt llike it, went back to my trade a bricklayer, so 10yrs on i have some spare cash so decided to take class 1, in which i did passed first time :smiley: this was last october 2010, and guess what i have only done some weekend work, registered with driving agency who ring every week asking if i can work,and i had a company ask if i would like a full time job,so as my little story goes it aint hard to find a job with no experience just be honest, and surprise surprise i still a bricky, try looking at a company that has class1+2 trucks have a chat with them tell them what your thinking of doing,you never no your luck mate,nothing to lose loads to gain, now this is what i call dribble lol good luck pal :smiley: