Class II Container work

Does anyone know if its possible to start subbing container work with a Class II unit.

I know that I will be limiting myself, but hopefully once I have my class 1 things will change

Any advice will be greatly appreciated

Thanks

hgvsteve:
Does anyone know if its possible to start subbing container work with a Class II unit.

I know that I will be limiting myself, but hopefully once I have my class 1 things will change

Well, I’m no expert but I would think you’ll be severely limiting yourself for a few reasons.

Firstly even if you have a 4 axle vehicle plated to 32t you’ll be limited to containers up to about 22t max, with a 3 axle 26t vehicle limited to more like 16 or 17t. This is going to quite significantly limit your work you can do.

Secondly any vehicle you use for this is going to have to be custom made and therefore cost a lot of money, whereas with C+E container work you can get started with a cheap unit and skelly you can get very easily.

I could be wrong but I would think this is a non starter.

Paul

to carry 20ft’s you mean? theres plenty of work transporting empties as well as container derived cabins but your at a disadvantage if you can’t unload em on sites i.e with a crane. if it’s loaded boxes? i would amagine it would be very limited indeed purely because the gross weight of an eight wheeler.

Good point paulb, I had assumed he meant loaded 20 footers and hadn’t thought about the work carting empties about.

As paul says, there is work around carting empty containers and site cabins if you have a rigid with a half decent HIAB on it. The money isn’t far off what you get running a max weight artic on containers as a subby if you can find the work and the running costs will be a lot less.

Marlow on here drives a 6 legger foden with a HIAB doing this kind of work, although he’s an employed driver not an OD.

Paul