Class 1 reversing

Had 2 days training on class 1 …yesterday done a little on the road today done reversing and uncoupling exercise all session. Anyone got any tips for me to remember when reversing to remember that it’s opposite lock.also is 3 and half hours for 4 days enough for a course I feel like it’s not.

Simple tip on steering the right way is to look at the bottom of the steering wheel, and the way that goes (left or right), the trailer will go the same way! :wink:

Enjoy, take it very slow, and don’t be a chunt, take a shunt! :grimacing:

We do 4 x 3.5hrs week after week and it works well. We also offer an additional 2.5hrs off road (reversing/coupling and uncoupling) for comfort.

Best is to not worry and it will come together.

Pete :laughing: :laughing:

I’ve been driving them for 6 months, still can’t reverse for toffee.

Evil’s suggestion works for me too, much simpler than the other common tip about pushing the trailer out of one of the mirrors (I can’t remember the rule, it’s complicated… :slight_smile: )

There are no prizes for speed so take it slow. The slower you go, the more opportunity you get to correct mistakes. That’s what the reverse is all about, a constant series of small error corrections to keep it on the desired path to the bay.

Im doing mine at the minute to although its in a wag and drag which i know is a different experience but im finding the reversing ok, was over cooking the steering at the start a bit but finding that with minimal movements of the wheel and at a crawl itl go where u want it and if you do go off a bit it takes very little to correct it again

Don’t worry about it,keep practising and it will just click at some point and you’ll wonder what all the fuss was about :laughing:

Thanks for the help everybody going to be using evils tip made it clear I was waiting to c a bit of the headboard in either mirror then steering against it. Was getting better probably passed and failed the same amount of times on the reverse