Class 1 for new driver

Hello guys.

I’ve had my class 2 licence for 4 years now. I passed my class 1 back in last June. I’m now bored of class 2 work and easy to move onto class 1.

Has anyone got any advice/help with where to look and company’s to avoid. I was thinking about asking DHL. Are they good for a class 1 starter

Oh by the way I’m based in Langley (berks)

Thanks, Ross

Try getting yourself a (Level D operative certificate) while on class 2, if you havent got it yet. That will allow you to tip at Heathrow. After that, having a class 1 you will have plenty of choice in your area. Average hourly rate for class 1 with level D working out of Heathrow is about £20 but is not impossible to find £24/h for that job nowadays. Company wise I have no experience with DHL, unless something changed tho, working with them out of Poyle they’d put you through your Level D, but given your locality you will have plenty of options for that. Another area that is a good bet around you is the aggregates and asphalt sector. You have Aggregates Industries near terminal 5, Cemex by the honda roundabout between Colnbrook and Langley, Tarmac and Conway oposite each other in Hayes, not to mention the numerous quarries and other asphalt plants of west London (there you are spoiled for choice). You will definitely need another ticket too, a MPQC but the last time I checked most employers would put you through that. It is an easy job with class 1 (but which isn’t?), you will mostly do aggregates and every now and again some big roadworks, 99% of the time if on roadworks it will be motorways, a piece of cake… (there is one company in Iver with trucks running out of nearly every asphalt plant in London, it is called Glengall)