Class 1 Experience

Hi guys,

I passed class 2 in 2010 and then class 1 in 2012, both whilst in the army. I’m in the middle of doing my CPC at present, should have it in the bag next week but have been looking for work in the meantime.

In all honesty I haven’t driven class 1 since my test which was a waggon and drag. I realise I may not appeal to most firms as I have no experience and a growing 4 year gap since I have driven anything C+E. To that effect a local agency has advised I take refresher training in order to shorten the gap and become more employable.

Its class 1 work I’m after but, with no current work and a baby to feed, I don’t have the hundreds it will cost for this training. I guess I’m just seeking anyone who may be able to advise me on how I could go about maybe getting this kind of position in the situation I’m in?

I have potentially landed a class 2 multi drop job at the local hermes depot, which I thought may be a foot in the door and they may eventually give me a shot on the bigger trucks. I’m a little bit sceptical only for the fact that I’m worried I’ll get stuck on class 2, in which case the gap between 2012 and present will only grow!

Any help is much appreciated.

Ben

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

Welcome pal! :smiley:

I really wouldn’t worry about refresher training, it’s a waste of money…

As for getting a start on Class 2 and being stuck on that, I really wouldn’t worry as long as the firm runs Artic’s as well…
You can bet your bottom dollar that at some point very soon, they will be short an Artic driver and need to find someone! :wink:

Also in the meantime while you’re still on the oversided VAN’s, it doesn’t stop you getting a bit of artic practice in the yard.

Best of luck pal! :smiley: