Claiming back CPC costs

I’m a company driver PAYE, ive recently had to pay for my CPC periodic training. Can I claim it back off the tax man?

No.

Hahaha nice try

Yes you can claim it back off the tax man, or rather the tax you pay on the equivalent income because it counts as a tax deductible expense. The same applies for medicals, driving license renewals, digi cards, any extra training you pay for as part of your employment which your employer doesn’t cover.

You need to complete a P87 Expenses in Employment. If you’re a basic rate tax payer you’ll get back 20% of what you claim for providing you’ve earned enough over the personal tax free allowance at least equivalent to what you’re claiming.

HMRC’s stated position is that companies who pay for their employees’ periodic CPC training can set that expense against their profits, and that (genuinely) self-employed drivers can also claim for such expenses provided they are maintaining existing skills/qualifications (i.e. not acquiring new ones). Employed drivers however cannot claim as the expense is not incurred “wholly, exclusively and necessarily in the performance of their duties”.

This does seem inconsistent and grossly unfair for employee drivers.

If it is tax allowable for employers, why not for employees who have to pay for it themselves? What is the difference between an employer and employee claiming the tax break?

ORC:
This does seem inconsistent and grossly unfair for employee drivers.

If it is tax allowable for employers, why not for employees who have to pay for it themselves? What is the difference between an employer and employee claiming the tax break?

Why is the employer not paying for the training if it is “wholly necessarily and exclusively” for the performance of that employee’s duties?

It is also unfair that an employed driver, who pays for their own, can’t claim the 20% vat back which others can.