Chest pains & driving

Ended up in A & E yesterday after having chest pains over the weeked, had all the tests, ecg, xray etc and now back home.

The info I had from the hospital was negligable as I was passed from department to department. Other than ‘take plenty of rest and dont do anything physical’ and ‘we’ll send the results onto your GP’ I was left in the dark.

Nobody (not even my GP) wanted to know my occupation, so does anyone know if this information is passed on automatically to the authorities? Is this the end of the road so to speak?

Ollie…

first off I hope you are feeling better today :open_mouth:

I am not a doctor, and therefore anything I post below is just supposition, and should not be taken as “Gospel”

However,

If an ECG showed any abnormaility, then I doubt you would be at home with no advice “Not to drive”,

any irregular heart rythm is taken extremely seriously, and if one is detected the medics always ask very quickly what job you do, as this is a major help in any diagnosis. from the details you have given I doubt (but nothing as 100% certain) that you have any major problems,

Chest pain can be anything from a full blown heart attack to ,(believe or not) constipation, :open_mouth:

so does anyone know if this information is passed on automatically to the authorities?

Only a diagnosis will be sent by your GP to DVLA, and only then if any condition affects your ability to drive HGV’s as defined in the regulations. as you have been sent home I doubt if this is applicable

I would suggest just trying to relax for a few days, and await the GP’s report, even if it is a heart problem that is not the end of your career, with treatment many drivers now have their licences returned and are able to continue driving

Ollie:
I was passed from department to department.

That in it self sounds like stressful experience !