Check Your Licence Expiry Date

Just found out last night that when you let you HGV entitlement lapse, in my case in June everything else on the licence expires on it including your car licence, the rules were changed in Jan 2013 in which every one and including those that passed a truck or bus test after that date have to now sign a declaration saying they are medically fit to drive, and send it off to get another 5 year licence, and then do a medical at 45 as before.
The info on this website https://www.nolgvbrokers.co.uk/bus-and-lorry-drivers-new-5-year-hgv-and-pcv-licence-renewal/ was taken on the DSA website and explains the new rules.
I found this out when I was trying to change the address on my licence, but could not do it as the licence had expired, so I have been driving my car for the last 3 months with an expired licence, not good when you are a taxi driver, but not good on the council either who didn’t pick it up when my badge was renewed in July.
I have now sent it off to get it renewed, and the form says that when DVLA have received the form I can start driving the car again.

==================

Made sticky by dd.
Made Unstickie by Reef

It wasn’t because you let your picture lapse (10 years) was it? I have never heard of that.
I have buses but my B licence shows valid until 2055 still on the website.
If I let my Bus/Truck licence lapse because I was no longer a bus/truck driver I don’t see why I should be penalised and have to renew my car licence more frequently than everyone else?

SJB:
It wasn’t because you let your picture lapse (10 years) was it? I have never heard of that.
I have buses but my B licence shows valid until 2055 still on the website.
If I let my Bus/Truck licence lapse because I was no longer a bus/truck driver I don’t see why I should be penalised and have to renew my car licence more frequently than everyone else?