CB's - do you use 'em?

I’'ve recently been given a new(ish) wagon that came complete with a CB. I managed to get an aerial hooked up a few days ago.

Being used to day cabs (DAFs and volvos) this particular truck (Scania sleeper) has reignited my interest in our line of work.

Is CB’ing a dying method of communication these days 'cos these past 3 days hardly anybody seems to be using it (channel 19 specifically)?

Being a CB newbie my knowledge of CB lingo is bobbins. Can you lot inform me RE cb slang?

Cheers

Paul

Yeah,talk normal. Don’t Americanise anything you say or no one will talk to ya. Just call the name on the truck you wanna talk to. A cb chat really shortens a loooooooooooooong journey :smiley:

I’ve been starting with “breaker breaker” is this a bit OTT?

Is all the 10-4 business a bit unecessary?

Say what you like when you like .Works for me and nobody knows who you are anyway !!! :sunglasses:

How is it that you can’t talk one a mobile phone while driving, but you can use a CB radio, which is possibly more distracting as you have a big flexy cord dangling across your view if it’s mounted above the screen?

I’ve got a CB fitted and it’s on most of the time. If you spot me, give me a shout, I drive THIS. I switch the CB off around the Glasgow, Birmingham and Hull areas. To many childish home basers hogging channel 19.

UK CBers don’t do the ‘Convoy’ CB speak, we just talk normally, mostly.
We definitely do-not 10/4 anything, except as a mickey take.
‘10/4 Good Buddy’ would really be taking the mick.
There are a few 10 codes still used, but not many.

You can try ‘19 for a copy’, asking for anyone to reply, to chat.
‘19 for a rig check’, means how are you receiving me, (signal strength and clarity)?
If you hear a couple of drivers chatting, ask to join the chat with ‘On the side’, at a break in the conversation. Hopefully they’ll say ‘come on in’, or something along those lines.