CB radio help

Hi guys im thinking of getting a cb radio for my lorry but ive never used one before and dont know the first thing about then i just think it could be a bit of fun can anyone please explain to me how these things work and how you find people to talk to… as you can tell im a total noob to this lol thanks in advance …

To look for people go to channel 19, in the olden days channel 14 was an open channel too, channel 9 was always kept clear as the emergency channel.
Many new cb’s now have UK and Euro channels.

Hardly worth wasting the money today,I have one but rarely do I hear anyone on it.Handy if your running with someone who also has a CB but if your
interested in communicating with other drivers…just wave…it’s cheaper.

Thank you both for your posts and armagedon i was thinking does anyone still use them so thanks for that i dont think ill bother now you made a good point with ‘just wave its cheaper’ lol made me laugh

I have only used them this century on my 4x4 when we are in a group :laughing:

They can be useful if you get caught up in a hold up on the motorway just get on channel 19 and ask if anyone knows what the hold up is, 9 times out of 10 either someone stuck in it further up or someone running the other way will let you know how major the hold up is. Or if you run on the A75 regular the Irish lads will keep you informed of mobile speed traps :wink:

aint worth it fella . £60 down the pub would be better :wink:

Not worth the bother I am home based licenced Ham and occasionaly flick onto CB bands to listen in nothing much to be heard,save your money

Had mine 2 or 3 months. Not spoken to a soul on it, and anything I’ve earwigged has been pretty mundane dross