Career Change

Hey folks,

I’m not sure If I’m posting this in the correct area.

I’m currently working as a HR advisor and I’m not enjoying it. I worked as a van driver when I was studying and preferred the work and the environment. I’m looking to move into transport management by maybe starting as a transport admin or transport operator. can anyone give advice on where to look for positions other than indeed and S1 jobs and also what other things should I look at doing to help me? I have a lot of transferable skills but have never worked in a transport office. I’m hoping to do my operators CPC at some point.

any tips and advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Craig

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

I,ll start by saying don’t take this the wrong way, BUT if you think you would be happier telling lads who been driving for years what to do you will either become very sad or violent , and you will be the one who takes all the blame with little thanks, if your great at what you do you probably wont get the recognition and if youre not it will just be grief, don’t get me wrong good transport manager s are like gold dust and there drivers will appreciate them but it aint the norm I’m an o/d have been a driver uk and euro and was a tm for a great boss with great drivers but it was the job I liked the least , and you gotta deal with dXXkhead customers every day how many happy smiley people do you see in transport? best wishes pal any help needed just ask hope you don’t think I’m just negative miserable old sod , if you liked van driving go back to that , i drive my own 7.5 tonner / 3.5 tonne van couldn’t be happier

Try working in human resources. its just as bad if not worse lol