Car / caravan info required

Ok, I know this is mainly about taking goods (truck / van etc) through Europe, but I’m a trucker in the UK and I’m planning a trip with my car / caravan over to Bulgaria in a few weeks time, and would appreciate as much help / advice as I can get off those who’ve done the trip before…

My route is currently planned as UK, France (briefly), Belgium, Germany (stopping at Effelsburg to see big daft telescope and maybe Dresden), Austria, Hungary, Serbia and into Bulgaria…

I’ve been advised not to use Romania, told insurance won’t cover me and also it’s likely my caravan (and possibly my car, clothes etc) would be taken from me…

Any ideas of costs would also be great.

Returning I won’t have caravan on the back (if it even makes it there) and will be wanting to come back via south of france to see Milau bridge, so either over the top of Italy, or into Greece, ferry into Italy, then up.

Thanks in advance

Wayne

Never been anywhere in a caravan, not bad going for 50+ :stuck_out_tongue:

eurocampings.co.uk/en/europe … =1&start=1

There are 28 camping and caravan sites listed on there, but be warned. Romania is rife with petty theft, corruption and horribly nasty folks who will steal anything you leave lying around. I have driven through it a dozen or so times and never lost anything but sweat, but it means keeping your wits about you, there are people who will insure you but it may be expensive.

The caravan club do a guide for Romania, so you need to find someone who is a member. Anywhere in Eastern Europe you will have to be as vigilant as you would in any big city in the UK. The advice used to be not to drive at night, I am not sure whether that has changed since the late 90’s

Don’t have nightmares, but have you considered Serbia, it is a bit more user friendly.