Can your body make it to retire at 67

The state retirement for those of us whom are 50 and under Will now have to wait until they are 67 before they can get their hands on the state pension. Have you considered what those extra years Will do to your finances and what impact working longer Will have on your body. National statistics say people are living longer but in my case most of my family have died by the age of 56, so i must be doing the state a big favour by passing away at that age and saving them paying me a pension. Being an agency driver i am not financially secure and with the country to go through another six more years of pain , you really do have to consider is now the time to get out of agency driving and driving altogether and look for a more secure job. Finances over the next six years look as though they Will be ever more tighter. DCPC Will cost more , your house Will be Lower and your wages to. No im not ready for the extra years are you ?

If you are worried and wish to join an industry that is more secure then I suggest the two markets that will never go away. Births and deaths. These are closely followed by pets, insurance and the big one transport. Oh hold on you are already in that one! :open_mouth:

No need to worry about this.
A survy done a few years ago showed that the average lifespan of a truck driver was ony 63 years

For anyone in their 30s now it’ll almost certainly be 70 by the time we get there.

Paul

Yeh, look on the bright side. You may also die at your family,s average age…56.!!

I’m lucky in the fact that I’ve paid into pensions since I was 18 so I should be able to go at 60 hopefully.

I was still pushing 44t @ 68 with no prob. except I got bored stiff with the speed limiter & jacked in. Motors drive themselves these days.
And you got Archie Paice on here still stripping tilts @ 73.

del949:
No need to worry about this.
A survy done a few years ago showed that the average lifespan of a truck driver was ony 63 years