Can I still drive a PCV on an LGV licence?

I’m a bus mechanic and I hold a LGV C+E licence, but not a PSV licence. I have never done any CPC training.
I was always told that I didn’t need a CPC as a mechanic and that I could drive a PCV as long as it was in connection with my work as a mechanic and I didn’t carry passengers.
I was told yesterday that the rules changed recently and the licence exemption no longer applies, so I’ve been searching on line and can’t find anything.

It looks like I’m OK with no CPC. gov.uk/guidance/driver-cpc- … s-examples

You don’t need to have Driver CPC if you’re not a professional driver but your work includes an incidental element of driving empty lorries, buses and coaches in the local area. You will need to satisfy the following conditions if:

you’re driving within 50 km of your base
you’re not carrying passengers or goods

Does anyone know, or have a link to, the current rules on PCV driving with an LGV licence?

You can drive it but not with passengers ie test drive or mot run.

So if you decided to become a weirdo, and drive unemployed and elderly people around all day, what do you need to do?

Is there a ’ conversion ’ course required? And do you have to enjoy wearing a jumper?

eagerbeaver:
So if you decided to become a weirdo, and drive unemployed and elderly people around all day, what do you need to do?

Is there a ’ conversion ’ course required? And do you have to enjoy wearing a jumper?

You need to change your name to “Colin”.

The new rules mean that you cant drive the bus on the road without a bus licence,not even to a test centre.You could become a jumper wearing wierdo in your own time but you cant accept any payment for this.

The new rules mean that you cant drive the bus on the road without a bus licence,not even to a test centre.

Thanks for the conflicting advice. :confused:
Is this on the VOSA or DVSA or any other official web site? I can’t find it anywhere.

the nodding donkey: