Can I ask your advice on changing career? (Newbie)

Hi all another newbie here,

I was wondering if you can help me with some thoughts I am having with changing my career. I know that some will think I am mad to think of entering haulage/distribution

I’ll try to explain my situation at the present and what experience I have done to date with driving.

I currently work as a engineer for a small company, been with them a year, worked in construction full time since I was 23. As with all industries including haulage it is changing but I don’t feel the same vibe/passion whatever you call it for construction as I did at the start nearly 10 years ago.

I know the world has to constantly change, but I’m just not enjoying my job/career anymore.

With construction I took a large pay cut to work “less hours and from home” neither of which has happened and found that companies do exaggerate facts to what you want to hear. :unamused:

My current working patterns vary, very early starts, sometimes we have night shifts for some jobs obviously as people don’t like us being in the way. And of course we have the obligatory weekends to catch up on extra work/drawings. It’s always been expected of technicians/intermediate management to do all overtime work for free and is written in the contracts and let’s not get started on the forced exemption from the WTD!

Anyway I digress the only people who can advise me from within my family are my father, a C+E driver all of his working career coming up for retirement in 3 years. He says surely construction is better, but he wouldn’t discourage from a driving job but in the same sentence wants the best for his son too, so he says think very carefully?!

My uncle finished his career as a C driver (now retired) after being a submariner most of his life, but did other jobs after. He said lorry driving was the second best job he ever done but could never be compared to his favourite in submarines.