Calculating max vehicle payload

Hello all,

Apologies if this has been covered elsewhere; I have done a couple of searches but couldn’t find what i was looking for.

I am a new driver, out in an 18T rigid today, and was told the load I was collecting was going to be quite heavy, possibly too heavy. It turned out that another truck was sent out with me to halve the load anyway, but I was wondering at the time how to work out the max payload for the vehicle? I checked the vehicle plate, which told me MAM was 18T - front axle was 7T and rear axle was 11T. But these figures are obviously the weight of the vehicle plus its load - but in order to know how much this load weight could actually be, I would need to know the unladen weight over each axle to do the calculation (MAM minus unladen = max payload). The problem is couldn’t see a figure for this ‘unladen weight’, just MAM over each axle, though I looked carefully for it - maybe I just missed it? Had I actually been concerned of overloading in this instance (which I wasn’t thanks to the other truck), I would have called the office to check before departing, of course.

Its been a long day and I am just wondering whether I am being stupid here and cannot see the obvious… :confused:

ask ur boss where the nearest weighbridge is and go there with ur truck empty but wit all ur normal gear in i.e all ur straps pallet barrow aand what everelse u need to do ur job plus a full tank of fuel then take ur tare weight from ur gvw/ and then uve got ur payload

when i was on removals i new my wagon had a tare of roughly 5100 with one porter to around 5200 with two