Calais

Have you had a difficult time going through Calais? I am a masters student researching how the Calais migrants are affecting drivers’ experience of passing over the UK/France border. I know its a big topic, but was wondering if anyone would be willing to chat to me for about 20 mins on the phone whenever you have time? The research will be totally anonymous and hopefully will end up being useful in working with the authorities to make it safer for drivers.
If anyone would like to participate could you email stephaniezeller1@gmail.com and we can arrange a time for a quick chat. Thanks so much in advance :smiley:
Ps. Rikki has ok’ed this post!

You would do far better getting first hand experience by finding a driver willing to meet up with you in France and drive you to Calais. You could then do plenty of on the spot research and get a real feel for how scared a person can be sat in a cab with that lot around you and then you can base your dissertation on that and not something that is hypothesised.

Hi Conor, yes I have spent time with drivers! I am just trying to get a general impression of the thoughts and feelings that drivers have about the situation. Thanks for your help!

steffz1:
I am a masters student researching how the Calais migrants are affecting drivers’ experience of passing over the UK/France border.

The research will be totally anonymous and hopefully will end up being useful in working with the authorities to make it safer for drivers.

How wonderfully naive. Your research will only be of any use to the authorities if it tells them what they want to hear,

otherwise it will be straight in the bin.

Stanley Knife:

steffz1:
I am a masters student researching how the Calais migrants are affecting drivers’ experience of passing over the UK/France border.

The research will be totally anonymous and hopefully will end up being useful in working with the authorities to make it safer for drivers.