cab hopper

I’m an ex-Deben driver, who’s had to go over to the dark side and join Maritime, were cab hopping is epedemic. Just getting together a cab hopping box which I can lift easily from vehicle to vehicle day by day or week by week.
Was just wondering today’s modern vehicles are plenty big enough with lots of storage space, but if you had to put your creature comforts into an 18" by 24" box what would be on your list? :unamused:

Must haves: money
Wants: everything else

By the way its a tesco produce box that I half inched and is ideal for the job and would recommend it to anyone else doing similar work.

I find it ■■■■■■■ stupid that in this day and age companys expect you to cab hop when you are tramping especially ones the size of Maritime. I wouldn’t even apply for a job where can hopping is the norm, if tramping you have your own truck end of.

SteveBarnsleytrucker:
I find it [zb] stupid that in this day and age companys expect you to cab hop when you are tramping especially ones the size of Maritime. I wouldn’t even apply for a job where can hopping is the norm, if tramping you have your own truck end of.

They operate on 12% over manning of the fleet, so really its just away of avoiding using agency drivers for holiday and absentee cover, every new driver has to give it ago, usually 5 or 6 weeks then you get a nice new motor and a uniform. Money’s not bad, they’re just a bit rregimental in they’re aapproach and like you to keep ringing in etc.

You’ll learn. You need to read some of the threads on here if you expect a “nice new motor” in 6 weeks. You won’t have to bother keep ringing in either as they’ll be on your back all the time.