C+E Training Diary

Hi All,

Having passed my cat. C back in October I decided I wanted to go straight into the C+E whilst I was still in training mode.

I have started my C+E training and day #1 kicked off with a demonstration drive from the instructor out on the roads for around 20 minutes and then back to the yard for a reverse demo. Then it was over to me…after a couple of circles around the yard it was straight out onto the roads. Being a PSV driver I didn’t really have a problem with the size of the vehicle and I feel quite happy cornering and such with my positioning.

Back at the yard I had my first crack at the reverse and made a complete hash of it with an almost 45 degree kink in the setup. After trying this for about half an hour I just could not get it and I reverse buses every day. It just seems so completely alien to me.

Hopefully things will improve soon! :frowning:

the reversing will come and you will find it will suddenly click

Big turns of the steering wheel to put the bend on is usually the biggest error - put a little turn on - let it go back on that for a couple of seconds then turn the wheel the other way to get it back in line again - then repeat

That will get you into the way it reacts

Doing a straight line reverse with tiny little adjustments is always a good way to start reversing

DAY 2

Another crack at the reverse and things are still not so good…I am really struggling with this aspect and just can’t even begin to get my head around it!

Out on the road things were fine, was taken around some fairly tight corners and that went fine…brushed a few curbs but I am fairly happy with my driving really.

The couple and uncouple was quite straight forward, I thought that would be the hardest part but it’s really quite easy. Just start at the trailer handbrake and work around to the legs, air lines and electrics, check handbrake then remove dog clip and pull handle to disconnect king pin. and the opposite for coupling.