Bus Driver to Class 2...is it worth it?

Hi all

I’ve been a bus driver for five years now, I’ve driven for GoAhead in Dorset, Stagecoach in Carlisle and now Arriva in Cheshire.

Each time, once I learn the routes, after 6 months of beating the same tracks over and over my mind starts wondering with the boredom. More recently the buses are old, uncomfortable and poorly equipped and the money is not much better than a checkout person in Lidl. Strike action looks inevitable within the next few months for an extra 20p an hour. I’m in my comfort zone but there’s no real pride or money.

And that’s my problem, I simply can’t afford to do 45-50hr weeks to bring in £400 odd, it’s just not enough…So I’m currently filling in my D2 to get my class 2 provisional.

This is where I start getting cold feet. Everyone’s heard the news, new drivers being bribed with bonus incentives, £600 a week + overtime etc, I’ve seen class 2 jobs advertised with wincanton for nearly £14 an hour + bonuses and o.t rates.

Is this all just [zb[? Will I be selling my soul and working my ■■■■ off for this money?

Is it a bad move? How do I find a decent company to work for??

If they are all ■■■■ taking toss bags I won’t stick it and I’ll have wasted £1,500+

Thanks for reading this far, I think I’m just trying to figure this out in my head. I can see myself doing it and am excited by the prospect I’m just nervous that’s it’s not going to be any fun and I’m going to hate it.

Sorry for rambling, any advice is greatly appreciated.

BusManSi

At the moment the money is really good, and there are definitely chances to get decent work, even with no experience (although your years driving buses can count as experience in the eyes of insurance companies as it counts as commercial driving).
Will you find work you like? In truth, you probably will.