Breaks!

Hello people I am after advice not criticism before we go any further! :slight_smile:! I was stuck in a traffic jam today with 4.10 hours driving done on the tacho I was stopping and starting and as I am fairly new to the digi card (been using analogues) didnā€™t realise but mine adds about 2 mins everytime I pull off! (Is this just meā– ā– ?) by the time I had found a layby on the A51 -A49 I was over my 4.5 hrs by 16 mins! Is there anything I can do to say what has happened as it wasnā€™t intentional!? Would appreciate your help please! :slight_smile:!

I am here: maps.google.com/maps?ll=53.208666,-2.739230

Do a prinout with reasons for the infringement and keep it. If VOSA ask be polite and show it to them.

Terry T:
Do a prinout with reasons for the infringement and keep it. If VOSA ask be polite and show it to them.

^^^^^^^^ this ^^^^^^^^

Sometimes ā– ā– ā–  happens, as has been said just do a printout, write the reason on the back. Despite the horror stories VOSA are actually human and realise things like this happen.

Thanks for ur advice! I tried googling it but nothing came up! With analogue cards I knew you could write on the back of them but unsure weather a printout would have the same effect with VOSA!

I am here: maps.google.com/maps?ll=53.208311,-2.737295

While the advice to take a printout and make a written entry giving the reason(s) for the infringement are correct, it is unfortunately too late now. The printout (and written entry) must be made on reaching the safe stopping place.

As for the tacho appearing to add extra driving time with each stop/restart - yes, they do:
As each minute clicks over, if the wheels have turned at all in that minute, then the whole minute is recorded as ā€œdriving timeā€. In addition, if the first and third minute in any block of three consecutive minutes are marked as ā€œdrivingā€ under the above rule then the second minute will ALSO be recorded as ā€œdriving timeā€.