Breaks and log books

As an arency driver i am sent to various enterprises. Recently, for the first time, I have been sent to drive a bin wagon. Occassional manual work but mostly stop start driving controlling the hydraulics and watching out for the loaders in the mirror and cctv. All refuse work now seems to have been outsourced by councils and is in the hands of (as far as I can see) one multinational company. Nice people, very efficent and organised. I put my card in at start of duty. All the vehicles are new and have digis. Four hours later, I said to my two loaders that i would have to take a break in half an hour. They said that drivers don’t take breaks or only half an hour at the most. I said that i would be taking 45 minutrs and duly did so. An uncomfortable and silently hostile period was enjoyed. I apologised to them as i respect them as very hard woking, concientious comrades. I also see that they want to get the job done asap so they can get away. A few days later I was sent to another depot and was told that drivers only take ten minutes break. I was also told that tacho laws don’t apply to dust carts. Other drivers who I asked told me that the use of log-books allowed us to do whatever we want. My position is that:
i. I want to keep my licence and avoid breaking the law
ii. I want to finish earlier that the eight hour minimum for which I am paid.
iii. I don’t want to rock the boat
iv. I don’t want to reduce the overall demand for drivers by letting the employer get excessive use out of individual drivers.

If tacho laws don’t apply, why have the tacho fitted?

If it was door to door domestic bin collections then you are on domestic regs and not EU regs.

DOMESTICS REGS - PAGE 24

DonutUK:
If tacho laws don’t apply, why have the tacho fitted?

Because there is always the possibility of that vehicle being used on non domestic regs - bulk collections from business premises is one example