Breaking into Euro driving

Im pretty sure I know the answer to my question, but am looking for some advice and guidance.

I have been driving class 1 for four months now and am looking to break into European work. I’m gonna guess that I need to gain more experience before crossing the English Channel.

Does anybody know of any firms out there who are looking for drivers to work on the continent?

I have no objection to being away for a few weeks at a time, and for the right position would travel to the Home Depot.

I feel my lack of experience will hinder me at this point but wanted to try the waters and see what guidance is out there.

Many thanks all in advance.

Try S&K south wales they should give you a start and outbase lorry as well.

I dont see your experience as such a big issue as you seem to think.

The thing is, most of the older lads dont want to be rolling around europe for potentially months at a time not knowing when they’ll be back.

I meet plenty of young lads/new starts on the boats. A lot dont return after there first jaunt though.

If you don’t mind hard graft then you should consider approaching some of the household removal companies that still “do Europe”. Its a good way of getting some experience of Euro driving, you will get all over the place and it is much more interesting and varied than driving warehouse to warehouse.
The flip side though is that you have to be prepared to work hard and you have to be able to get on with people. Sharing a cab with someone for a couple of weeks at a time can be quite challenging at times!! :laughing:
Smoking, flatulence, air-con on or off, different music tastes, like a beer or tee-total, who gets the bottom bunk /top bunk, who is “The Foreman”, these can all affect how you get along after a few days!
But if you are looking for a chance to get some miles and time under your belt then its definitely worth considering. :wink:

What sort of work are you doing at present.
Rdc and home every night?